We are proud to announce Wycombe District Neighbourhood Watch Association received the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service 2019. The Queen’s Award is the highest award given to voluntary groups across the UK to recognise exceptional service within their communities and is equivalent to the MBE.

It was awarded to Wycombe District Neighbourhood Watch Association to recognise their volunteers’ hard work in supporting those who have been affected by scams and cons as well as provide valuable support to those who haven’t been so unlucky.

The association organised 65 seminars across Wycombe District to explain the dangerous nature of scams and how people can defend themselves against being conned.

The award which was presented on the 18th September by Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher, the Lord Lieutenant for Buckinghamshire at a special ceremony held in the Guildhall, High Wycombe, was accepted on behalf of the Association by Stan Jones (Chairman) and Geoff Pegg (Director of Operations).

Stan Jones said ‘We were over the moon when we found out about the award and I feel very proud we had been recognised for this.’ Geoff Pegg added ‘The certificate we received was signed by the Queen, so it’s a very proud moment for the Association.’

Neighbourhood Watch Network has developed a scams toolkit looking in-depth at the variety of scams affecting people such as telephone, investment, doorstep, romance, emerging and common scams, and what we can do to protect ourselves. 

If you or someone you know has been the target of a scam, and fallen victim to it, you should report it to the police on 101 and Action Fraud either through their online reporting tool or calling 0300 123 2040, as soon as possible. The online form takes about 20 minutes to complete.

Image Above from left to right: Cty Cllr Dev Dhillon, Vice Chairman, Bucks County Council; Cllr Mazamal (Maz) Hussain, Mayor of High Wycombe; Cllr Paul Turner, Chairman Wycombe District Council; Stan Jones, Chairman Wycombe District NW Association; Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher, Lord Lieutenant for Bucks; Geoff Pegg, Director of Operations, Wycombe District NW Association; Ian Burrell, Treasurer, Wycombe District NW Association; Doug Meredith, Committee Member of Wycombe District NW Association